Versão Português Versione italiana English version


GPO Karting - Communiqué n°24

03/11/10 Abbasse, Guibbert and Gasly: Champions!
GPO Karting - Grand Prix Open Karting - Laval



The final round of the GPO Karting series will certainly be remembered as one of the greatest moments of the 2010 sporting season. The public was numerous on the Laval circuit, where drivers showed some outstanding performances thanks to a very fast track, where all races were undecided until the last lap. Anthony Abbasse (KZ2) and Pierre Gasly (KF3) celebrated their title of French champions with a new victory, while Enzo Guibbert's fate (KF2) remained uncertain until the end. The taste of victory was even sweeter after all that suspense...


The Laval (Mayenne) track had not hosted an International Grand Prix in six years and the new team, managed by Philippe Noury, really wanted to make this final round of the Grand Prix Open Karting FFSA a great sporting event for all the fans. With 170 entered drivers, a nice autumn weather and some spectacular races, this is exactly what happened, with some positive future prospects for the Federation's showcase series.




In KZ2 (125cc gearbox), Anthony Abbasse (Sodi/Maxter) concluded his season in style. Not only did he finish with another title of French champion in his pocket, but he also won the two races held on Saturday and Sunday. Sodi chassis and Tec-Sav's preparations proved to be highly effective in Laval, so much so that Charles Fiault (Sodi/TM) and Pierre Ragues (Sodi/TM) successively ensured a double success to the Breton professionals. The latter logically became French vice champion, followed by Yan Pesce (Energy/TM), who finally got a taste of the final podium at the expenses of Emilien Grosso (Intrepid/TM). After conquering the French KZ125 championship in September, Benjamin Da Silva (Birel/TM) celebrated his presence at a higher level with his third place on Saturday.




In KF2, it was necessary to wait until the final day of racing to know who between Enzo Guibbert (FA Kart/Vortex) and Clément Bluy (Tony/Vortex) would be crowned winner of the French championship title in the hopefuls' category. Unfortunately, these two talented drivers could not avoid a series of problems during the race. Arrived in Laval with a solid points advantage thanks to the results achieved during the previous four meetings, Guibbert conquered, as expected, his first title of French champion. There were other equally intense struggles for victory in the lead pack during the races. On Saturday, Pascal Belmaaziz (DR/Maxter) held his rivals at bay effortlessly and won, despite an excellent race by Belgian Denis Dupont (Tony/Vortex). He replicated his success the following day, this time avoiding a possible attack by Alexandre Baron (Sodi/Parilla), all happy to conclude the championship in the top 3 at Dupont's expenses. With an already excellent 4th place on Saturday, behind Belgian Kenny Charles, US driver Andrick Zeen showed an extraordinary performance on Sunday and climbed on the third step of podium, preceding Pierre-Henri Nanot.




In KF3 (Junior drivers from 13 to 15), Pierre Gasly (Sodi/Parilla) ended his fantastic season in a blaze of glory. European vice champion, 4th at the World Cup and 3rd at the Monaco Kart Cup, the driver from "Équipe de France" got quickly the upper hand on the winner of the pre-final, Anthoine Hubert (Tony/Vortex), before he ran to victory on Sunday. His Monegasque team mate Charles Leclerc (Sodi/Parilla) was right behind him all the time and finally secured the title of French vice champion. The two drivers were already on the podium in this order during Saturday's race, but behind a perfect Léo Roussel (Sodi/Parilla), who greatly contributed to the triumph of Sodi chassis in Laval. Rémy Deguffroy (Tony/Vortex), third on Sunday, Florian Latorre (DR/Parilla) and Valentin Moineault (Merlin/Parilla) were the protagonists in the chasing group during the weekend.

Les Derniers Communiqués GPO Karting

Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest