Versão Português Versione italiana Version française



International > CIK-FIA



Nearly 25°, a dry track and some clouds were the conditions for the Final of the KZ World Championship at Genk. The 34 finalists joined their karts on the grid after a new colourful and musical presentation in front of the main stand. The VIPs left the track for racing to continue.


Patrik Hajek (Kosmic / Vortex) and Marijn Kremers (Birel ART / TM) started well, but Rick Dreezen (KR / Parilla) slid going into the first corner and Simo Puhakka (Tony Kart / Vortex) was 3rd. Kremers and Puhakka dropped back on the first lap, then Anthony Abbasse (Sodi / TM) and Jonathan Thonon (Birel ART / TM) a little later. Hajek was isolated in the lead 1.6'' ahead of Dreezen, with Fabian Federer (CRG / TM) 3rd, Jorrit Pex (CRG / TM) 4th, and Alex Irlando (Sodi / TM) 5th. Paolo De Conto (CRG / TM) then attacked Bas Lammers (Alpha / TM) for 6th position. Pedro Hiltbrand (CRG / TM) gave up after six laps.


The top three were relatively detached, while Irlando attacked Jorrit Pex for 4th place just before halfway. Ben Hanley (Croc Promotions / TM) made another splash by taking 8th position, with no less than eight places gained. De Conto was the fastest on the track in 6th position, getting closer to Jorrit Pex. The Italian returned to the top five on lap 18. Hajek was not distracted and maintained a good lead to win the KZ World Champion title against Dreezen. After a final battle to the line, Federer, Irlando and De Conto completed the top five in that order.



Info Kartcom with Kartlink / © Photo KSP

See more racing news

Related races

World Karting Championship
Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest

Log in